Constructors and Destructors

Started by benthehutt, March 30, 2005, 05:15:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
I'm trying to learn C++, and I've been doing pretty good, but I think  I need some help with constructors and destructors.

First of all, I know constructors are called when you create an instance of a class(Like an int named sally), but when are destructors called?  I don't get when they go out of scope.  

Like, if you make a new instance of a class in int main(), does the destructor get called immediately or at the end of it, or when you call a function that's not a method of the class...

I'm confusing myself...

Also, I'm using Bloodshed Dev 4.9.9.2, is that a good one, or should I fork some money over for a better one? (I'm really new to C++)
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

I only do C I'm afraid.

One person that might be able to help some is godaigo. I believe he knows C++.

I suppose I could find some documents, but wouldn't know what to look for, because object orientied stuff isn't what I enjoy.

I'm trying to remember if I can think of any documents that are C++ related instead of C but I  just can't think of any. I'm sure you tried googling this a bit ?

"My Terminal is my Soul"

Google wasn't too much of a help.  All the stuff was about what constructors and destructors were, nothing about when they're called.
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

btw, why do you hate OOP?  I love it like so many fine cuban cigars...  C sucks next to C++(that's why it's ++).

I guess I'm old fashioned. I hate OOP, the look, the feel, everything. Besides, if I needed to do it, it is possible in C (though I guess most don't know that). I don't know... just hate OOP. It's the one reason I dislike Java too.