SSID broadcasts

Started by benthehutt, March 16, 2005, 06:07:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
This may be a dumb question, but I'm kinda new to wireless networks so bear with me.  I've got four computers with WMP54G's on them running through a WRT54G router.  I don't actually need any security past the 128-bit WEP it offers, but I wanted to try to disable the SSID broadcasts.
I've heard you can do it, but none of my computers can find the network if I disable it.  I even give them the SSID and WEP code and they still can't find them.  

First off, is there any actual need to disable SSID broadcasts?  Will it enhance security?  And how can I do it?
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Wow, I was a complete idiot in March.  Anyway, this is what's happening (if anyone cares):

First off, 128-bit WEP encryption is probably more than any 4 computer wireless ethernet will ever need.  In fact, it maybe arguable that wireless networks greatly surpass wired networks in security.  In the first place, it's incredibly difficult to crack a 128-bit public/private key encryption code, second off, if the SSID broadcasts are turned off, most sniffers will never even be able to find the encrypted signal.  Thusly, that will offer way more security than you (I) will ever need.

Thirdly, in order to disable SSID broadcasts, each computer in the network must be given the WEP key and the SSID.  However, this cannot be done using the crappy software that ships with linksys stuff (even though it claims it can).  I suggest uninstalling any software and using a third party program like:

http://www.devicescape.com/ (WOC)
http://www.woodstone.nu/salive/reg.asp
http://www.slac.stanford.edu/xorg/nmtf/nmtf-tools.html

or even the Windows XP builtin wireless manager cajjigidy.

Oh, and also, I admire your work, benthehutt, and I wish I could kiss the ground you walk upon...

humbly yours,
benthehutt :-*