Ethics question...would like some opinions

Started by vicioustofu, January 12, 2008, 03:08:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
Hi there,
I'm a complete noob, but would like your opinions on a situation.

I had a contract with a business partner which stated that he would pay me for artwork that I give him.  He has been duplicating my artwork and is making hundreds of dollars, he refuses to pay me what is contractually owed and he refuses to give the artwork back.  He is basically a thief.   His lawyers have threatened to drag out court proceedings until I was broke if I took him to court.  My lawyer confirmed that even though the guy is definitely at fault, it would be useless to fight for my artwork in a court of law.

One of my friends mentioned that a hacker could theoretically get into their computer and retrieve my stuff.  

Is this really a possibility?  And if so, how does someone like me get in contact with someone who would be willing to get my artwork back?  I have the thief's IP Address.

Any opinions would be appreciated.  Thank you for your time.

Well to start with, GET A BETTER LAWYER. I have a friend of mine who is an artist (not graphics designer) here in Ireland and he did work for someone and they used the work and duplicated the imagery without paying for it. Went to court and the guy didn't have a leg to stand on, he had to pay for the artwork as well as any legal expenses incurred.

Failing that there is 100% no point in trying to retrieve the imagery illegally from his machine. To start with you say he is "duplicating" your artwork. Which means there is more than one copy and you can bet your ass the rest of the copies are not stored on the same machine.

Second of all if he decides to take legal action against data theft or attempted data theft your ass would be suffering a lot more than that guy having to pay you for your work.

So your choices are:

-> Get a new lawyer
-> Bend over and take it, it is a learning curver, we all have them.