About CGI...

Started by benthehutt, September 23, 2005, 05:30:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
So I'm new to the whole Perl thing and CGI in the first place, and I'm having problems when requesting info from a perl script.  This is what's up:

I've got a swf file (flash) and I want it to talk to a perl script on the server.  So then, I've got the flash end good I think--though I haven't gotten the other end to work so I can't be too sure.  Anyway, the swf has a function called loadVariableNum that will connect to a script on a server and take whatever the script returns.  So, I just did this:

_root.lastModified = loadVariablesNum("lastUpdate.pl", 0, "POST");

where _root.lastModified is just where I'm storing it in flash.

That I think should work.

The file "lastUpdate.pl" goes like this:

Code  perl Select
#!d:/perl/bin

print "Content-type: text/html\n\n" ;

@URL = (flastmod, "monitoring.html");

print exec(@URL);

Theoretically this should return the date and time the page was last modified, but even if I just run the script from explorer it just prints "0."  I even tryed using system (which I belive is the one I should use--cause exec doesn't return anything) and rearranged stuff like this:

Code  perl Select
#!d:/perl/bin

print "Content-type: text/html\n\n" ;

print system(flastmod "monitoring.html");

Nothing freaking works!  What's the deal with this?  I know I have permissions and everthing, cause I wrote this to see if the Perl script could work on the server:

Code  perl Select
#!d:\perl\bin

print "Content-type: text/html\n\n";
print "\n";

foreach $key (sort keys(%ENV)) \
   { print "$key = $ENV($key) <br>";
   }

And it printsout all the environmental variables.  Does anyone know why the script would only print "0" ?
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.