I need frank and unnest advice

Started by gadoxc7779, January 19, 2009, 03:19:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
Hi all, i am new to computer hacking and web security,i need advices on how i can increase and sharpen my skills in certain areas such as programming and Defending my system as i have come to realize that's one of the best form of attack.

I decided to learn Perl programming as my second language as i have played around with php in the past, so i went out and purchased a book called PROGRAMMING PERL by Larry Wall and a few other authors. I also bought a book on MASTERING REGULAR EXPRESSION .i plan on installing Fedora but have never used Linux so ill appreciate links to where i can learn some things about Linux.

my problem is this i find it very had motivating myself to stay awake at night to read and practice, during the day i spend a few hours reading and practicing, i kind of get this feeling that this isnt taking me anywhere hence i decided to drop a post on here for some advice from more advanced individuals how may have been through what i am going through.

I have learn't a few things about port scanning using nmap,but i don't feel comfortable enough to venture out of my local home network as i don't feel i know enough to protect my. I got an application from Google called web goat which is a vulnerable web server which is meant to teach newbies a few things on web security, i must say its been fun using it.

Ill appreciate any advice on how i can get myself into a routing that keeps me reading and practicing more as i currently dont seem to be doing much of that.

thanks