Hey Forum

Started by Phlux, February 23, 2005, 05:34:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic
It is really sad about Dean, but without his non-stop questions I would have never found this website when doing research on telnet hacking.

Nonetheless, I am happy to be the newest member here and hope we can discuss much knowledge on this misunderstood "hobby" or as I like to call it "The Pursuit of The Beyond".

Dean, I am not exactly sure how old you are; but if you wanted to get into hacking so bad you'd understand it isn't about destruction, much like phreaking isn't about tearing up the system...it's about going where you "don't belong"..it's exciting so why destroy something you can explore?

I am not a hacker; but I have been learning for 4 years on and off now! I knew this was not going to be a fast process, if it was i'd be - for some reason :) - a straight A student; applied AND accepted at Harvard, but that isn't the case.

My reason for these many years of wanting to get into hacking was voyeurism...finding out what people are up to...originally to find out if people said things behind my back, to see if somone had a crush on me - for rather selfish things. I started using trojans, basically a lamens tool that anyone can use. I stopped using those programs because I was not sure if it was the right thing - since the server you were connecting to was called "The Victim:". I really wasn't sure if that was against hacking ethics, even though I wasn't participating in any destruction or erasing somones entire harddrive.

I have much to learn and hopefully I can get a few pointers and talk to some people that share equal interests.