July 19, 2018, 10:31:18 PM

Author Topic: FireFox 1.5.0.2  (Read 11656 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cobra

  • cool?
  • Administrator
  • Seasoned Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 447
  • Country:
  • Gender: Male
  • My mom says im cool!
FireFox 1.5.0.2
« on: May 02, 2006, 05:30:25 PM »
Anyone using this release under Windows XP SP2 ?

I used to preach to everyone to use Firefox over IE .. now i'm not so sure. Getting a lot of problems with this release.. and one of the main ones that is frying my head is getting the "Page cannot be found" shit.. and then hit "Try Again!" and behold the magic .. it works the second time.

This is only a problems since the patch was released for the 1.5 release.

Anyone else having problems with 1.5.0.2 ?

I am not suffering with insanity... I am loving every minute of it.

Offline benthehutt

  • Global Moderator
  • Seasoned Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country:
  • "Drugs? You'd better not be!" - my mom
    • Echelon9
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2006, 06:14:56 PM »
I am, it sucks.  I ALWAYS get that stupid "can't find server/try again" thing when I check my email--luckily it always works the second time.  What the crap?

Also, I've been doing alot of web development and the stupid new firefox version doesn't support alot of the css stuff that even the old IE does.  I'm not sure why...

On top of that, the stupid "clear cache" button is a load of crap.  When I need to refresh the page after I worked on it, I puch refresh and the dumb thing loads it from somewhere--not from the webserver.  The old firefox worked fine and IE (even the IE7 beta, which is actually pretty cool) but the new one won't do it!  I don't know where it stores all that crap, but it certainly doesn't clear it all.

I've moved almost completely to the IE7 beta.  It's much better.
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Offline Metgod

  • the deranged hacker
  • Administrator
  • Forum Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Country:
  • Gender: Male
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2006, 06:24:12 PM »
Seems there's another update.

Have you tried it (was released today) ?

(and no, I haven't looked at the details of the release)
« Last Edit: May 02, 2006, 06:27:07 PM by Metgod »
"My Terminal is my Soul"

Offline benthehutt

  • Global Moderator
  • Seasoned Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country:
  • "Drugs? You'd better not be!" - my mom
    • Echelon9
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2006, 11:08:56 AM »
Haven't tryed it yet, but Ill download it now.  It looks like it's only a small update (only 200k) that doesn't have too many bug fixes.
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Offline Cobra

  • cool?
  • Administrator
  • Seasoned Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 447
  • Country:
  • Gender: Male
  • My mom says im cool!
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2006, 01:53:01 PM »
Yeah i installed the 1.5.0.3 update.

What CSS issues have you run into Ben?

I work doing Internet Application Development .. so we need to always make sure that the interfaces are smooth across every browser under the sun.. which starts causing problems between FireFox, IE .. and to top it all off when you change physical operating systems .. you get differences aswell. Mac, Linux, etc..

I am not suffering with insanity... I am loving every minute of it.

Offline benthehutt

  • Global Moderator
  • Seasoned Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country:
  • "Drugs? You'd better not be!" - my mom
    • Echelon9
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2006, 05:06:28 PM »
Firefox 1.5.0.x in general have cause problems for me when I try to use something like:

Code: [Select]
#banner
{
width: 100%;
padding: 5px;
}

#links
{
width: 45%;
float: left;
padding: 5px;
}

#main
{
width: 45%;
float: right;
padding: 5px;
}

When I do something like this (this isn't the actual code--but I'm not at the office), where I have floating div's (I'm not sure what the actual name is) and padding, IE handles it great, firefox screws up and displays it real weird.

Sorry I don't have any of the actual code, I think I probably wrote over it anyway.
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Offline Metgod

  • the deranged hacker
  • Administrator
  • Forum Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Country:
  • Gender: Male
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2006, 05:47:46 PM »
I think it's the other way around: firefox does it right and IE just sucks. And XP has been known to break programs anyway, iirc. But that's another story. Either way, you hear it both ways.

I guess the problem is there is no official standard with parsers -- they generally do things their own way (which is stupid). At least, I believe I've heard something to that effect...

so who really knows what's going on..

have you tried reinstalling from scratch (the browser) ? doubt it but never know... I have no problems since I use 2k... not xp. But I guess this should be reported (especially the part of it not loading on the first try but does on the second). Very weird bug..
"My Terminal is my Soul"

Offline benthehutt

  • Global Moderator
  • Seasoned Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country:
  • "Drugs? You'd better not be!" - my mom
    • Echelon9
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2006, 12:32:06 AM »
I think IE is closer to standards than firefox, well, I mean I think it does better as a whole--but that's cause everyone writes for it.  It's always supported the most features, except for some experimental features Netscape uses.

Anyway, I didn't reinstall it or anything, but I doubt it matters.  None of the 1.5's worked right.

I just think it sucks that there aren't real standards like there should be.
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Offline Metgod

  • the deranged hacker
  • Administrator
  • Forum Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
  • Country:
  • Gender: Male
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2006, 11:51:43 AM »
I doubt it would matter by reinstalling too, was just a troubleshooting thought (albeit for this case probably very unlikely to work).

And your other points, I can't even argue against either. People do tend to write for IE more than firefox, because it's what people use. Then again, that doesn't mean it's correct in full. Either way, and like you say, there should have been a standard.

You'd think they'd have figured that one out... doesn't take much work to think it out; people will do their own thing if they are allowed to. I guess the only way to figure out the one problem is report it. Sucks either way though... and the pages you wrote won't be fixed at all I imagine, since what we discussed already. I know SSI can be of use... but I don't know much about web documents in all honesty. Perhaps I should, but it doesn't interest me that much currently.
"My Terminal is my Soul"

Offline godaigo

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Country:
  • I love YaBB SE!
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2006, 01:15:32 PM »
Hey benny if you ever figure out why this happens let me know. I've had similar problems with the website that I'm, slowly, developing. I had two floating divs and they displayed wondefully in IE, but no matter what I tried in Firefox they ovelapped on the right side of the page. I should try and hunt down the code and post it. I'm sure it's probably something I was doing wrong, but I did tinker with it quite a bit and had no luck resolving the issue. Anyone... Anyone... Bueller.... Bueller... :)
Godaigo
All's fair in Love and Brewing.

Offline benthehutt

  • Global Moderator
  • Seasoned Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country:
  • "Drugs? You'd better not be!" - my mom
    • Echelon9
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2006, 01:21:42 PM »
You had one as float: left and one as float: right?  Try making one static and the other float.  Or both float right or both float left.  It might help...

Anyway, apparently it's a major problem, just google "firefox float div" or something like that--there's a bunch of info.
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Offline benthehutt

  • Global Moderator
  • Seasoned Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country:
  • "Drugs? You'd better not be!" - my mom
    • Echelon9
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2006, 02:27:12 PM »
Corollary:  I found that both ie and firefox have specific issues, however, firefox screws up with side by side floats, whereas ie has rendering issues (see http://bonrouge.com/br.php?page=faq#haslayout).

However, I found this site to be extremely helpful in sorting out various float div problems:

http://css.maxdesign.com.au/floatutorial/

That's all for now... ;D
Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Offline godaigo

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Country:
  • I love YaBB SE!
Re:FireFox 1.5.0.2
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2006, 06:11:38 PM »
I'll have to check that site out and see if it fixes my problem. I don't recall now if the floats were side by side or not. I'll have to check when I get off work. Cheers....
Godaigo
All's fair in Love and Brewing.